Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Help For My Sisters Dogs

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

lovemyboys88

lovemyboys88

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts

So I have a quick question. Today my sisters Bully baby was diagnosed with diabetes. She is currently on kibble and I was wondering if going raw would help regulate the diabetes? I would think the kibble would be an issue as far as all the fillers, but seeing as how I am new to raw feeding myself I figured I would ask those who have more experience. Happily though my sister asked her vet about doing raw and she didnt seem to have a problem with it, so that is a step in the right direction.

TRDmom

TRDmom

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 468 posts

I'm glad to hear about a vet not being against raw feeding, but sorry for your sister and her dog. Illness of any kind is never fun. Depending on the kibble being fed, most have carbs/fillers that could negatively affect the diabetes, whereas strictly raw would only be meat/bone/fat (all of which are used by the body with minimal waste, compared to kibble, hence the difference in poop of raw and kibble-fed dogs). Even grain-free kibble has vegetables, like peas and potatoes. I'm not sure how much raw feeding will help, but I do believe it will be better than kibble for the aforementioned reasons.

• lovemyboys88 likes this

jagger

jagger

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts