Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Chicken Necks Just As Treats?

raw feeding chicken necks

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

Gemma2015

Gemma2015

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationMinnesota

I am new to raw feeding.  I am getting a puppy on June 27th.  The breeder is feeding raw and I plan to continue the raw diet.  I had asked on another raw feeding site about reasonable prices for chicken necks.  This is the response I got:

Chicken necks are fine as a treat, but I would not recommend using them as a regular meal item due to the potential for thyroid issues from the glandular tissue still attached.
They also have a lot of cartilage contend in the "bone".

From the research I've done, I thought necks were a great choice for puppies.  Now I'm confused.

Please share your thoughts and experience with feeding chicken necks.  Thank you!!

• Furypn, Bellipn, yesmanfdp and 1 other like this

naturalfeddogs

naturalfeddogs

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 2,299 posts
  • LocationTalladega, Alabama

Necks are great for treats, and a good source of bone. I have had plenty of puppies who have had chicken necks. You just don't want to give them to dogs who are gulpers, since you risk choking.If the dog is small, they are great meal as well. Frozen, they would make great teething treats for puppies too. I don't know where some people get their information. 

• Spy Car and Natavaea like this

Gemma2015

Gemma2015

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationMinnesota