Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Dog Dislikes All Chicken I Give Him?

- - - - - chicken chicken hate new to raw

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

watchingheroesfall

watchingheroesfall

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Hello Everyone,

I'm very new to PMR and everything seems to be going good in the stool department but my dog refuses all chicken I give him. I tried to start on chicken 4 days ago like everyone suggested but he wouldn't touch it no matter what I did. He doesn't seem to care for the flavor or the texture and he wont even try to gnaw the bone. I haven't had this problem with any other raw proteins I've given him. I just basically skipped chicken and went straight to everything else. Is this normal and is it okay? Should I try chicken again when its less new to him? I've been giving him a mix of ground turkey, pork neck bones, a little beef liver, finely chopped greens, and a little bit of beef heart. I expect to have some deer by next week to add in. Is this okay?

naturalfeddogs

naturalfeddogs

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 2,293 posts
  • LocationTalladega, Alabama

I would add more variety, and some more bone. You can try chicken again later if you want, but try some turkey necks, and pork ribs for some bone as well. He will get way more benefits from whole cuts of meats and bone, rather than ground. 

How long have you been on raw now? If its been a few weeks, you can also start to add more red meats in the way of beef along with the deer. Just remember they are rich and start slowly.