Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Colitis And Raw?

raw colitis

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

Shalista

Shalista

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hi, so I'm very new to raw. I've done barely any research but I kind of got thrown into it. My dog Bax (2yr old rat terrier) has had some digestive issues. He always had very loose mucusy stool and occasionally spots of blood. Two Christmas' ago he just started streaming blood. It was everywhere. I rushed him to the vet and the vet said he had colitis and put him on Purina's DCO food, (which is basically nothing but corn and grain). Bax solided right up nicely and I thought everything was fine. 

It wasn't. He started getting very anxious and upset culminating about a month ago when he started making continuous noise. From dawn till dusk he would whine, growl, or bark and pace constantly. I tried everything. Vet visits, training, more exercise, more training, kongs, chews, massage. Then one of the people on another dog forum I'm on recommended trying raw. I switched Bax over completely and it's been a miracle. He went from 14 kongs a day to keep him quiet to just 4. He's relaxed, he's snoozing around the house, and he absolutely loves the chicken I've been feeding him. 

My problem, is the colitis. His stool is getting loose and runny again. He's only been on the raw diet for a few days but I don't want him to start pooping blood again. Should I try to wait it out? Is there something I can add? I don't want to go to my vet because he thinks raw feeding is ridiculous.