Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

I Just Told My Vet.

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

Sprocket

Sprocket

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

So I work as a veterinary hospital.  We have 3 vets on staff. I love them all.  

Tonight I was talking with one of them about a dream I had and the dream included raw feeding so I just thought, screw it, and I said "I feed my dogs a raw diet".  I told her the dream which was about how the owner wanted my dogs quarantined  :startle:  because they are raw fed and then fired me for it.

Afterwards we talked about the diet and I told her how long I had been feeding them and how we do it.  She asked a TON of questions. She most just said "As long as its nutritionally balanced and you are good about prep and cleaning, I don't see why it would be a problem.  Just make sure your cat gets taurine".  I told her about all my "raw feeding friends" that I had to talk to about any issues I have, all research I've done and how long we have fed the diet.  

I am SOOOOO relieved that she took it so well.  We also talked about minimal vaccinations.  We recently changed out protocol at work and are now vaccinating for distemper and parvo every 3 years.  She said "I don't see why we vaccinate if there is no reason to."

YAY! :rock:

• Prey Model Raw, naturalfeddogs, GoingPostal and 2 others like this

GoingPostal

GoingPostal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts