Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Hello From Alabama

• Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

malinois owned

malinois owned

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Alabama

Just getting started with PMR diet. Any advice on my unique situation from experienced people would be great! My name is Shannon. I have 1 Belgian Malinois, (male, 8 months old) "Apollo". He is my service dog. I have been training him myself and he does a great job! I'm a disabled Veteran, I served in the U. S Army. When Apollo came home I was feeding him Nutro. I had feed it to my dogs for years and never had any problems with it. Within a week of  Apollo coming home he started to have stomach problems (diarrhea, and vomiting). We did not realize how sick he was until after the fact. After the initial vet visit he seemed to be doing better, only to get sick again a few weeks later. Long story short, the first few months were up and down. It was all this and learning how many Malinois had sensitive tummies, that we began our search for "a higher quality diet" After lots of research (vets, trainers, internet forums, and dog food labels) we found Orijen. We loved it and our dogs loved it too! We also have 1 Jack Russell Terrier (male, 2 years old) "Maverick, and I Miniature Schnauzer (male, 1 year old) Max. The problem is the price! Our dogs have been on Orijen for about 6 months now. Their coats are shiny and healthy they have lots of energy, their teeth are nice and clean, stools are good, the whole nine yards. However, we spend on average $195.00 a month on kibble. I first learned about the raw food d