Welcome to Prey Model Raw
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Organ Meat

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

AmandaL

AmandaL

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

I'm new to raw (still in the leg quarter everyday phase) and just curious for future reference how often you should feed organ meat? I know some people who do a small portion everyday and others who do once a week... Which is best? I have a 57 pound pit mix if this helps. Also, if I wanted to throw in a whole chicken or rabbit and it weighs more than 1.5 pounds (what she gets everyday) what is the best way to go about balancing that out? Thanks!

bigjones4

bigjones4

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
Most people try working up to full organ meal weekly; but because it's so rich, you start by separating it into small portions throughout the week, if not you could have some "cannon butt"/"explosive diarreah" issues. He'd need 5% of his total meal ratio per weeks. So if you feed 1.25lbs per day, throughout 7 days that's 8.75lbs per week. Then 5% of 8.75lbs would be 7oz, so that would be the amount of organs he needs weekly.

Liver is the best I believe so if you can only get your hands on one type of organ that would be the one to go for.